|
Research databases and indexes: general information.
CoverageEach of the indexing and abstracting services covers a finite number of journals and a specific range of subject areas. It is always best to check more than one database to get broad coverage of your topic. Print indexes covering earlier dates are available for most services. Please check the the University of Sydney Library Catalogue or send your inquiry through on the Your Questions Answered page. Finding out which service indexes a specific journalIf you are interested in locating an index for a specific journal, and you are a staff member or student of the University of Sydney, please search Ulrich's International Periodical Directory for the title and select complete reference to view the list of abstracting and indexing services attached to the journal record. Many of the journal records on the University of Sydney Library Catalogue have information about which services index the title in the notes field. Finding the whole article.An increasing number of the indexing and abstracting databases allow access to the full text of a journal article. If the database does not indicate full text access is available please check the University of Sydney Library Catalogue to see if the journal is subscribed to in print or electronic format. Journal abbreviationsThe University Library Catalogue will not usually be able to locate a title if the abbreviation is entered into the search box. All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations or other types of abbreviated publication titles (e.g., conference proceedings titles). It is produced by the Iowa State University Library. Remote access to research databases and indexes.Most of the electronic indexing and abstracting services that are subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library can be accessed online from outside the University campus. This remote access is only available to currently enrolled students and staff at the University of Sydney. For information about remote access see: About off-campus access. |
| Partners: | Contact | | Site Map | ||
Disclaimer | Copyright © University of Sydney 2008
Last Modified: Tuesday 08 July, 2008